Florida Law

Do you know the law when lending your vehicle? Are you familiar with Florida's personal injury protection or financial responsibility?

Lending Your Vehicle 

Florida Statute 324.021 Definitions; minimum insurance required. 

3. The owner who is a natural person and loans a motor vehicle to any permissive user shall be liable for the operation of the vehicle or the acts of the operator in connection therewith only up to $100,000 per person and up to $300,000 per incident for bodily injury and up to $50,000 for property damage. If the permissive user of the motor vehicle is uninsured or has any insurance with limits less than $500,000 combined property damage and bodily injury liability, the owner shall be liable for up to an additional $500,000 in economic damages only arising out of the use of the motor vehicle. 

 

Florida follows the Dangerous Instrumentality Doctrine - the owner of an inherently dangerous tool is liable for any injuries caused by that tool’s operation.  The Florida Supreme Court added Motor Vehicles to the category of inherently dangerous tools.  

 

Key Point to Remember  - You lend it, someone crashes, and You're on the hook!

______________________________________

 

Florida Personal Injury Protection

Florida Statute 627.736 Required Personal Injury Protection Benefits ...

 (a) Medical benefits.—Eighty percent of all reasonable expenses for medically necessary medical ...

 (b) Disability benefits.—Sixty percent of any loss of gross income and loss of earning capacity 

 (c) Death benefits.—Death benefits of $5,000 per individual.  

 _______________________________________________

 

Florida  Financial Responsibility Law

Florida Statute 324.021 Definitions; minimum insurance required 

 (7) PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY.—That proof of ability to respond in damages for liability on account of crashes arising out of the use of a motor vehicle:

(a) In the amount of $10,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, one person in any one crash;

(b) Subject to such limits for one person, in the amount of $20,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, two or more persons in any one crash;

(c) In the amount of $10,000 because of injury to, or destruction of, property of others in any one crash; and

Call me - Hector "Highway" Hernandez at: 

833 HIRE HHH    (833) 447-3444

 

24 hours/7 days – Waiting for your call. 

 

Cases Throughout Florida!

01

Accident/Crash

Accidents vary in extent and injuries caused may not be evident immediately.

04

Slip and Falls

If you or a loved one is injured in South Florida, a skilled personal injury lawyer can help.

02

Worker's Compensation

Injured recently at work? Contact a workers' comp lawyer who can help you get through a claim or law suit.

05

Wrongful Death

Wrongful death cases include fatal injuries/death, drunk driving accidents, negligence, and recklessness. Let me represent you.

03

Social Security

Maximizing benefits and helping in the follow-up of your claim and advising on what to do to qualify is my priority.

06

Florida Law

Do you know the law when lending your vehicle? Are you familiar with Florida's personal injury protection or financial responsibility?